During the first week of Big Brother 9 houseguest Adam Jasinski opened his mouth and uttered the first scandal of the season. He described to fellow houseguests his plans, if he won, to open a hair salon so the “retards could get together”. His stupidity was quickly refuted by the surrounding houseguests but the shockwaves continue. Not a day has gone by that we haven’t received a comment from a concerned viewer or family member of someone stricken with the condition of autism.

In the subsequent days foundations supporting research to end and ease autism like Austim United have stepped forward and asked CBS to issue an apology. So while Adam’s words were terrible and hurtful what I saw today was even worse. A new scam, looking to take advantage of this Big Brother 9 scandal, has hit the Internet.

An individual fronting himself as “UNIAF: United Autism Foundation” has sprung up a website with an issued apology reporting Adam’s firing from their organization while making a request for donations. The first problem is, and there are a lot of them here, a search at Give.org, BBB’s safety check site for verifying a charity, has no entry for “United Autism Foundation”. A quick research through Whois.net shows the offending domain, which I will not link or list, was registered just last year (December 2007) and its registered web site title is listed as “Official Big Brother - Adam Jasinski Fan Website”. That’s quite a change of heart to today.

The only offering of proof of legitimacy is a poorly scanned letter allegedly from the IRS hosted at an altogether different domain operating with a .com TLD. I’ve read that it just takes a $500 fee to get the charitable organization tax status which means anyone could invest to get that. The business address is also different from the provided mailing address on the “Donate” page. That mailing address shows up as a strip mall on Google Maps’ “Street View”. The website is also entitled “UNIAF - Offical Apology” [sic]. “Offical” huh? Do you mean “official’? Maybe he can’t spell “official” or figure out his real address because the site is operated out of Karlsruhe, Germany by Olaf B Hampel (source: NetworkSolutions).

Under no conditions should you visit or donate to the “UNIAF” website or any site claiming to be a charity that you can not verify through trusted sites like Give.org. Please spread the word and don’t let this scam take a penny of money that could be going to the actual cause of fighting autism.

If you would like to donate to the fight against autism then visit Autism United, a legitimate organization.

Update: Additional research turned up this on Craigslist (I know, I know, that’s not a terribly reliable resource at all, but…):

I am selling custom shirts to support the National Autism Association. This is to make up for what may be a scam perpertratated [sic] by Big Brother’s Adam and the United Autism Foundation or UAIF…

From what I have researched this foundation’s web presense [sic] started in December of last year.. Probably after Adam’s Big Brother TV show selection. I am not slandering this foundation as I don’t have proof it is a scam. I am just saying it seems fishy. And if you want to donate to the United Autism Foundation to go to research, then please make it at the National Autism Association which has a long and rich web presense [sic] and history. If the United Autism Foundation or UNIAF is legit then rest assured by making a donation to the National Autism Association will definately [sic] go toward this.

So if Adam Jasinski is really associated with this organization, just how real is this organization anyways? As the Craigslist entry correctly cited, the offending websites were setup within weeks of when Robyn Kass announced the casting had been completed back in December 2007. Is it possible that Jasinski planned this whole thing as a scam going into the house?

Earlier I noted how suspiciously similar his “retards” comments were to the scene in “There’s Something About Mary”, click here to read that discussion here. The whole thing seemed so faked and forced to me, but no one else seemed to pick up on this. Now I’m starting to get all tinfoil-hat-conspiracy-theory worked up. How deep does this rabbit hole go?? Stop me now if I’m getting too far out there.

Update 2: UNIAF has now abandoned their dot com domain, as I pointed out that was suspicious for a charity (commercial domain vs org domain). But guess what? They’ll sell it to you! UNIAF.com is now for sale to the highest bidder. They’ve also taken down their “donate here” link.

Watch Big Brother 9 Live Video Feeds Now - Free Trial



Did You Enjoy this Post? Subscribe to BigBrother9.Net for Free by Email or RSS

Related Posts on BigBrother9.net: